RSS

The “Duh” Moment

06 Dec

So while at DevLearn I heard a lot of talk about personalized learning experiences and reuse of content.  It didn’t hit me until I got back and processed what it all meant.  I spent some time researching different ways to focus the content rather than the tools to make deliver the content.  I deal with software training so I do a lot of screen capturing.  I use Captivate to do that and will continue to use it for the foreseeable future.  However, we are providing more than just screen capture demonstrations to our clients.  We are not just trying to show them button clicks, but why they do the things they do in the software.  So we are trying to teach them concepts as well as button clicks.  Currently we are using HTML and some embedded interactivity from Flash to deliver this content.  Again I am focusing on the delivery method and its limitations rather than the content itself.  SO in my research I started to look for blogs by some of the people I had seen speak at the conference.  That gets me to the “duh” moment.  I think we have all had that moment, when that new concept hits us and we get it.  That moment happened reading this blog post from Reuben Tozman.  After reading this article I had that moment of duh, that makes complete sense and why weren’t we doing this?  In my day to day job I am also responsible for our product documentation which can be the basis for our content.  Using the methods talked about in Reuben’s post and some other research I have been doing with XML it would seem to allow us to share that content in a better way.  We can have one source of content that can be used for both our eLearning courses and our product documentation.  I am very excited about the prospect of this and can’t wait to dive into how we are going to do that.  Stay tuned to for future posts as we move forward and make this happen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 6, 2011 in eLearning

 

Leave a Reply

 
